MY LITERARY BFF

HARRY POTTER

Throughout the month of April, you can catch up on my posts for this year’s challenge as well as all my alphabet offerings from previous years on my Blogging from A to Z page HERE.

When I read a great novel or a series of novels, sometimes I wish I could step into the book and join the world experienced by the characters. I just know that if I were there, I’d feel at home and contribute positively to the plot. I think it is those characters that keep me returning to works by the same author and even read those same novels over and over again.  For this year’s challenge, I plan to visit those characters we all know and love.  Those characters that we want to step off the page because we know that if they did, we’d be best friends forever.  Today, please meet Harry Potter.

As I mentioned in my post about Hermoine Granger, billions of people from around the world have read and loved the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  Since 1998, the characters from J.K. Rowling’s wizarding world have taken on the novel reading world and we, myself included, have gladly been swept up in its phenomenon.  September of last year marked the 20th Anniversary of this wonderful series of novels.  Among these characters is the title character Harry Potter whom many of us would welcome as a friend.

Harry James Potter, the protagonist of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series was born on July 31, 1980 to parents, James and Lily Potter. Those are facts but to both the widzarding and muggle worlds, Harry Potter is The Boy Who Lived, singled out by Lord Voldemort at birth to be his greatest rival, and our hero.  Before his eleventh birthday, Harry would probably describe his life as desperate and himself as just plain Harry.  It is when he turns eleven and is accepted into Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry that his life is changed forever.  It is there that he is taken under the wings so to speak of headmaster, Albus Dumbledore.

It is there that he makes the greatest friendships of his life, Ron Weasley and Hermoine Granger.

It is there that Harry learns that he is famous in the wizarding world.  A fame that he never knew in his eleven years. That fame has his fate tied with Lord Voldemort, the internationally feared Dark Wizard and the reason, Harry is an orphan.

When it comes to school work, we find our hero is not necessarily the smartest student and certainly a student who doesn’t apply himself 100% but we find him to be loyal and inquisitive.  The fact that he isn’t great at everything, makes him real to the reader.  It is his loyalty and inquisitiveness that have him almost falling into greatness.  The Harry Potter series is about many things but chief of them is good versus evil and our friend Harry is caught up in this struggle in each novel.

 

 

7 responses

  1. hilarymb says:

    Hi Maryanne – I suspect we’d all love to be in Harry’s World … just so much fun – yet horrors abound too … as you say the good v evil … wonderful imagery JK created for us all. Cheers Hilary

    Like

  2. eschudel says:

    I still love going back and re-reading these…

    Like

  3. Mary Lou says:

    I loved the books best. I bought and read all of them. Thanks for the great post! 🙂

    #AtoZChallenge ~ April World Holidays ~ Letter P

    Like