BLOGGING FROM A TO Z

 

A 1970’s Time Capsule

POP CULTURE

B

Thank you for visiting my take on the A to Z Challenge for 2016.  Where last year I brought you the most important aspect of the 1940s, World War II, this year I jump ahead a few decades and bring you the 1970’s.  Imagine that on December 31, 1979, a group of historians decide to bury a time capsule filled with news events and pop culture phenomena that were symbols of the 1970’s. What would be in this decades old time capsule? Get ready for a far out and groovy trip around the 1970’s?

Be sure to visit my News and Noteworthy post today as well.

Bell-Bottoms

Like many fashion styles, bell-bottoms come and go.  Although a staple of the 1960’s, by the end of that decade bell-bottoms had moved into a fashion staple synonymous with the hippie counterculture.  In the 1970’s, bell-bottoms found their way back to mainstream fashion. Celebrities popularize bell-bottoms in the US by wearing them on television.

 

The pants were typically flared from the knee down, with bottom leg openings of up to twenty-six inches. Made from denim, bright cotton and satin polyester, they were so popular that they became a symbol of the outlandish and colorful style of the decade.  The bell-bottom pant had some variants as well.  Loon pants (shortened from “balloon pants”) were a variant on bell-bottomed trousers, with an increased flare. They were worn occasionally by go-go dancers on the British television music variety show Ready Steady Go! in 1966.  Elephant bells, popular in the mid-to-late 1970s, were similar to loon pants, but were typically made of denim. Elephant bells had a marked flare below the knee, often covering the wearer’s shoes. The preferred shoes were platform shoes with soles at least 2 inches (5.1 cm) thick and heels 4 to 5 inches (10 to 13 cm) to keep the pants’ hems off the ground.

A to Z on the Music Charts

Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon & Garfunkel reached number 1 on Billboard Hot 100 on February 28, 1970 and stayed there for  six weeks.  It was the number one song of 1970.  One of my favorites of all time.  I recently saw a documentary about the development of the song and it was amazing.

A to Z At the Movies

Blazing Saddles from the uncomparable comedy of Mel Brooks was the top grossing film of 1974 (tied with Towering Inferno) and the 13th highest for the decade.  Mel Brooks was the king of the not-politically correct.

Blazing Saddles, 1974

Blazing Saddles, 1974

 

All images in this article are in the public domain. For any YouTube clips embedded in my posts, I am not the uploader.
33 responses

  1. GP Cox says:

    HEY – I STILL have a pair of bell bottoms!!! [not extended flares, but jeez! 🙂 ] And who wouldn’t remember Blazing Saddles – everyone in the studio had tears from all the laughing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember adding more fabric to the pants by opening the side of the pants from the knee down. This made the bell bottom wider. I miss bell bottoms : (

    Like

  3. Elle Knowles says:

    I remember this time well as it was my high school years. Bell bottoms were my favorite! Thanks for the memories…~Elle

    Like

  4. rolandclarke says:

    I remember wearing bell bottom trousers and platform shoes. Great track that will never age. And Blazing Saddles has to be a favourite movie – love so many scenes, like the pan off to the side…to the orchestra. But there are so many.

    Like

  5. Love that you’re doing the 1970s and I’m doing the 1980s

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I remember those days. I was a 1977 graduate…prime time for bell bottoms, Bridge Over Troubled Waters, and Blazing Saddles. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. 🙂

    Like

  7. Robin Rivera says:

    I want those shoes! Really I do. I would wear those platforms right now. However, the pants are awful! I’m glad they’re not coming back into style, at least not yet. : )

    Like

  8. John Holton says:

    “Blazing Saddles” was one of the funniest movies of all time.

    Like

  9. Denise says:

    I can’t remember ever owning bell bottoms. Just wasn’t fashion conscious.

    Like

  10. sizzlesue15 says:

    Thanks for the memories. I loved my bell bottoms and platform shoes – bring them back I say LOL:) Nice to meet you through the A-Z Challenge. Sue @Sizzling60 from
    Sizzling Towards Sixty

    Like

  11. Miss Andi says:

    I didn’t know they were called bell bottoms but I love them. I often wish I was born earlier to enjoy the fashion of that era 😊

    Like

    • They make a return from time to time. I remember teens in the 70s (I was too young) would where sweaters tucked in with thick belts. When the style made a return more recently, the fashion was worn with midriff/ half tops with lots of skin showing and often belly button jewelry.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Being a teen in the 70’s, what I remember most is how we started the decade in mini-skirts and by the end of the decade I was often wearing skirts that went mid calf in a nostalgic nod to a previous decades co-ed attire.

    Most memorable movie for me from the 70’s was Smokey & the Bandit.

    Revisit the Tender Years with me during the #AtoZChallenge at Life & Faith in Caneyhead!

    Like

  13. Birgit says:

    Ahhh bell bottoms, I remember them and hated them. I never
    Liked bell bottoms and thought they were ugly. Loved the music and love Blazing Saddles. One of the best comedies ever.

    Like

  14. Arlee Bird says:

    I got my first mod style bell-bottoms when I first went into college in the fall of 1969. My mother bought two pairs for me at Sears. I thought I was getting something really hip, but they looked really stupid and not as stylish as I had thought they were when I was trying them on in the store. I wore each pair one or two times and then they just stayed in my closet. What I thought was going to be cool when I got to school was nothing like the other students were wearing. Later I did get some flared bottom jeans that looked more normal so I did get some wear out of those.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

    • I still remember my brother talking my mom into getting him this bell bottoms jumpsuit from one of the mall specialty shops. It was expensive compared to what she usually spent due to 5 kids. The first day of high school some kids laughed at him so he never wore it again.

      Like

  15. Loved my bell bottomed pants, had a pair of flower power ones, sure wish I’d kept them! Love your theme!

    Like

  16. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    I kinda miss bell-bottoms! Wonder if they’ll ever come back to the extreme that they were back then?…

    Like