atoz-theme-reveal-2016 v2BLOGGING FROM A TO Z

spirale_roue_animation_by_kaizenman39-d3icrkm

A 1970’s Time Capsule

Imagine that on December 31, 1979, a group of historians decide to bury a time capsule filled with news events and pop culture phenomena that were symbols of the 1970’s. 

What would be in this decades old time capsule? 

You are about to find out because for some reason unknown to anyone but these historians, the time capsule is scheduled to be unearthed on April Fools Day, 2016.  I know you’re curious.  Are you ready for a far out and groovy trip around the 1970’s? You cool cats come back on each of the 26 days where I will blog one or two posts covering two broad categories:

News and Noteworthy – People or events that had a lasting impact on the world in the 1970’s.  

Pop Culture – The personalities, music, film, television, fashion, cars and toys that made up our world in the 1970’s.

Is there a subject you hope I include?  Stop back starting April 1st for news and noteworthy such as Vietnam, Kent State, Nixon, Iran Hostages, Patty Hearst, Roe vs Wade, Three Mile Island, VCRs and floppy disks or Entertainment such as All in the Family,  M*A*S*H, Disco, Saturday Night Live, Star Wars, Sesame Street, Monty Pythons and the Sony Walkman.  I’ll also include some posts about fashion. I’m turning back time but you’re really going to dig it.  Catch you on the flip side.

Clocks

Why not go visit the others on the linky list to find out what sort of posts you can look forward to elsewhere.

You can also visit the A to Z Participants list where you’ll access all the blogs participating.

42 responses

  1. Wow. I can come here and relive my mid-20’s. Ah, to be young again.

    Like

  2. Lata Sunil says:

    I already love the theme..

    Like

  3. The 70s – ah the memories. It was all very unserious for me, being under 10 at the time, so I look forward to seeing some of the things I didn’t notice when living through the decade the first time 🙂
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

    Like

  4. A very fun theme! I like the idea of traveling back in time 🙂

    Like

  5. JEN says:

    Just before my lifetime! Can’t wait to hop into time machine with you in April.

    Like

  6. artistpath says:

    Brilliant! I can’t wait for my trip back in time!

    Like

  7. notarize123 says:

    Sweet! Love the 70s!

    Stephen Tremp
    http://www.stephentremp.com

    Like

  8. Jen says:

    This sounds like a wonderful theme! I’ll definitely be back to read your posts! Happy Challenge 🙂
    ~ Jen

    Like

  9. Oh, this is gonna be fun … the 70s for me were all about college, graduation, my first love, my first job … groovy to revisit. (Yeah, I know, “groovy” was more of a 60s word…)

    Like

  10. Time travel… you’ve got me hooked. And the 70’s, I was in my 20s a lot of growing up happened during that period. Can’t wait to read your entries.

    Like

  11. Carrie-Anne says:

    That’s a great theme! I’ll be looking forward to your posts. I was only two weeks old at the close of the Seventies, but I’ve been really interested in the culture and history of the decade for a long time.

    Like

  12. Birgit says:

    This will be a very fun April to come and see what you will write about. I remember hot pants.

    Like

  13. An innovative and intriguing theme reveal, really liked your presentation and your theme. Time travel is always fascinating. Have a wonderful A-Z.

    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.

    Like

  14. djinnia says:

    wow, shades of my babyhood revisited. this will be a trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Gail says:

    I grew up in the 70s so I can’t wait to see what you choose to highlight! Good luck!

    Like

  16. randommusings29 says:

    Cool theme 🙂 It’ll be interesting learning a bit about what life was like back in the 70s!
    Debbie

    Like

  17. John Holton says:

    Now, I’m really looking forward to this one. See you next month!

    John Holton
    Blogging from A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    The Sound of One Hand Typing

    Like

  18. Oh groovy! I’m super psyched for the far out trip back to the seventies. The 80’s was my era so I’m really looking forward to learning all about the the cool 70’s. I know everyone equates cool with the 60’s, but I’m way more intrigued with the 70’s. I can’t wait to learn about the political corruption, music, fashion and all the other surprises you have in store for us. And I will get to view it with a clear head, I won’t be tripping on any psychedelic drugs that many people in the 70’s experimented with. So lucky for me, I will get to remember all of your fun and informative posts. Can’t wait for the April fool’s day fun to begin. I’m number 244 on the theme reveal list if you get a chance to stop by.

    Melissa Sugar
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://melissasugarwrites.com
    Twitter @msugar13

    Like

  19. Jemima Pett says:

    Mm, the 70s. Some things are best forgotten… like tartan inserts into jeans 🙂
    Good luck!
    Jemima Pett

    Like

  20. Sabina says:

    Awesome idea! I followed two people last year who covered decades–one the 80s and one the 20s.

    Like

  21. davidj99 says:

    Thanks for dropping by and for the positive comment. I hope you enjoy April and getting back into blogging!

    @breakerofthings from
    A Back of the Envelope Calculation

    Like