tumblr_m9c1no6sUG1qbmy9ho1_500Yesterday was the anniversary of Apollo 11 landing on the moon.  The next day, July 21, 1969, Neil Armstrong became the first to step onto the lunar surface six hours after landing . Armstrong spent about two and a half hours outside the spacecraft.  Also on the mission was Buzz Aldrin who also walked on the moon but for slightly less time.  Together they collected 47.5 pounds (21.5 kg) of lunar material for return to Earth. The third member of the mission, Michael Collins, piloted the command spacecraft alone in lunar orbit until Armstrong and Aldrin returned to it just under a day later for the trip back to Earth.

Apollo 11 crew

Apollo 11 crew

4 responses

  1. Jo Wake says:

    I so remember this although I was in the process of leaving Yugoslavia at the time. Didn’t see the TV pics until later. One of my favourite movies, The Dish, is based on this event and Australia’s participation in televising the event.

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    I remember this but not because i wanted to watch it. I was only 5 yrs old and my brother turned off Bugs Bunny to watch this. I screamed like murder because he turned off Bugs! He tried to convince me how important this was and I recall seeing footage but all i wanted was Bugs…ahh young kids

    Like

    • I don’t blame you. Bugs was pretty great. I remember watching moon landings and other space events in the classroom. I can visualize the old television being wheeled into the classroom. I always thought it was the first walk on the moon but it could not have been. (1) I also was five and would not have gone to Kindergarten until September 1969 when I was nearly 6. (2) Neil Armstrong’s walk was in July 1969 so school wasn’t even in session. It had to be the later missions probably in the early 1970s. I remember being on a trip to Nantucket/Martha’s Vineyard one summer with my husband and everyting was about the anniversary of the moon walk and Ted Kennedy and his Chappaquiddick incident (both occurred the same week in July 1969) and I put two and two together and realized my childhood memory could not have been Neil Armstrong (kind of a bummer). Interesting though, an week with an event of John F. Kennedy’s greatest legacy and the date of his brother’s greatest indiscretion/covered up crime.

      Like