I am working on my post for The World’s Outstanding Women (WOW): Marie Curie but there is a lot to write about her. In the meantime, enjoy a post from my very first year of blogging. Happy Independence Day and Happy Saturday.

IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE

If you are American, live in the United States, or heard of the United States, you know that today, July 4th is Independence Day.

dec_sm

Did you know these facts about our Declaration of Independence.

  • There is something written on the back of the document. Hold on, don’t make plans to get it. Although the document is a “National Treasurer”, it isn’t a treasure map. The writing on the back reads “Original Declaration of Independence, dated 4th July 1776,” and it appears on the bottom of the document, upside down.
  • The original is not written on paper. It is engrossed on parchment which is an animal skin specially treated with lime and stretched to create a strong, long-lasting writing support.   Engrossing is the process of preparing an official document in a large, clear hand. Timothy Matlack, a Pennsylvanian who had assisted the Secretary of the Congress, Charles Thomson, was probably…

View original post 689 more words

4 responses

  1. Great tidbits of history here! Wish I’d have read this yesterday, as I took quiz that had for questions several things you included here. Have a happy 4th!
    Life & Faith in Caneyhead

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    This was so great to read because I know so little. I did not know one recanted and that many died before the war ended. Another thing…when I looked at the beautiful signature of Thomas Jefferson and think that schools are considering getting rid of cursive writing, it breaks my heart.

    Like

    • It is sad about the cursive but at the same time, I sometimes hate it. When I work on my Ancestry.com file most of the time I can’t read what is written on old documents. Most cursive is not pretty.

      Like