A-to-Z+Reflection+[2015]+-+Lg

It seems like just yesterday I was writing my Great and Powerful Blog Reveal post and now this year’s challenge is over.  This was my second year in the challenge and I have to admit, I enjoyed it more the second time around.  I think my history theme last year was too broad and by narrowing it to the Second World War this year, it felt like it really was a theme.  All twenty-six posts truly complimented each other.  I was so caught up in my theme that I couldn’t stop with just twenty-six.  I wrote some A to Z Extras.  All my posts including the Extras are available on my A to Z Challenge page.

I enjoyed having new people visit my blog and I found many new blogs to follow through the challenge.  Thank you to anyone that visited and if you are here to stay, I welcome you.  I know that I will continue to read many of the new blogs I found during the challenge.

The only part about participating in the challenge that was a challenge for me was the process to follow blogs on other platforms.  My blog is on wordpress.com and when I follow another wordpress.com blog, the posts of those I follow feed directly into my reader.  For other platforms such as Blogger, I would have to follow via email.  I don’t want to deal with email notifications.  UPDATE: One of my readers told me that I could put a blog from another platform into my “Blogs I follow” and have it come into my reader. Still learning and this is great news.  

There was a post on the Blogging from A to Z website that I found via twitter about simulcasting your workdpress.com blog onto Blogger using IFTTT.  It was touch and go for a while but now everything I post on workdpress.com automatically posts to a blogger page that I set up just for that purpose.  Now I can go to my blogger account and set blogs to come into my reading list and I don’t have to make any effort to maintain the second blog.  Here is my blogger page http://mholloway63.blogspot.com/

I have to say that I love IFTTT.  It really is the greatest thing since sliced bread.  If you want to know what I am talking about, here is a link to the article and a link to IFTTT.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/2015/03/simulcasting-your-wordpress-blog-on.html

https://ifttt.com/

So as I reflect on my experience this year in the A to Z April Challenge, I found some interesting blogs to read, found new people to connect with through blogging and learned a very powerful website tool.  Update:  Also learned I could get blogger post into my reader.  I have to say it was a success.

 

24 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    Glad you enjoyed it and found more people and more people found your wonderful site. I am so unhandy with computers and all that, that I would not know how to make mine easy to comment. I thought mine is but I have had a couple of people say they had difficulties

    Like

    • Your site was not hard to comment. Blogger has that prove you are human thing but that isn’t that bad. It isn’t the commenting it is just getting the posts to read. Since I now have a blogger account, I can open the app and your posts are there. I don’t have to deal with clearing email notifications. I would not have time to manage two blogs but with the IFTTT I have an exact duplicate of whatever I post and I do nothing after getting it set up. It is wonderful.

      Like

  2. Sounds like it was a successful year for you! On Blogger, I can copy and paste WordPress (really any blog URL) into my Reader and presto chango, I’m following them from my Blogger platform. And actually, WordPress has a similar option! https://en.support.wordpress.com/following/#follow-a-blog-not-on-wordpress-com
    Yet simulcasting has other advantages – like getting your posts before two potential audiences.
    Stopping in from Life & Faith in Caneyhead.

    Like

  3. kristin says:

    I follow all blogs through feedly. I had no trouble commenting on your blog or any other ones really. I enjoyed you theme and the posts I had a chance to read.

    Like

  4. As someone who uses bloggers. I sometimes groan when I visit wordpress blogs but once I visit them the first time, google fills in my info. Glad the challenge was a success for you.

    Like

  5. Sue Archer says:

    Hi Maryann, that’s good to know about the simulcasting. Thanks for giving me the heads up on some possible solutions to our commenting dilemmas! And thank you as well for a great A to Z series. 🙂

    Like

  6. eclecticalli says:

    Oooh, new things to learn – yay! I will have to check that out.. I know that one of my challenges was commenting on some of the blogs that were on unfamiliar platforms.
    Didn’t stumble across your blog during the challenge itself, but will have to check it out now! 🙂

    Like

  7. Mary B says:

    Congrats on completing the challenge! I have a question about your posting on both wordpress and blogger – how does this effect your SEO? Aren’t you penalized for duplicate posts?

    Like

    • I don’t no much about SEO so you probably are correct.

      Like

    • After your comment, I searched my recent topics in google and found that my automatic feed to google+ is getting high in the search engines. It was 3 and 4 in the list like if I searched Cy Young or Grapes of Wrath. I never get that high from just wordpress or blogger but of course google would put google+ higher.

      Like

  8. Tarkabarka says:

    I’m glad you had fun with the challenge! I saw people giving shout outs to your blog in their reflections. I plan on coming back during the Road Trip to read! I just wrote a grad school paper on a WWII related topic, which was my first foray into 20th century history (I am trained in archaeology). It was very intriguing, I’d love to read more 🙂
    And thank you for the notes on blog reading! I rigged my reading list: I made a Bookmarks folder in my browser and bookmarked the blogs I regularly wanted to visit… 😀 And only followed the ones I want to keep reading in the end.
    Cheers!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

    Like

  9. Nick Wilford says:

    Congrats on a great Challenge. I’m sorry I didn’t get to many posts – I’m one of those Blogger bloggers, but I just paste any and all blog URLS into my reader to follow them. Broadcasting across both platforms sounds like a great idea!

    Like

    • Someone told me about the pasting the URL which I didn’t know about before and now I do. Another person mentioned to me that broadcasting across the two may mess up my SEO. I don’t pay much attention to SEO but did wish I had more visitors. After receiving the comment bout my SEO, I searched some of my resent topics on Google and found that my feed out to Google+ is showing up as the 3rd or 4th item so not even my WordPress or Blogger gets that high. Oh well.

      Like

  10. Congratulations on completing the challenge! IFTTT is new to me and I wonder if it works in the reverse manner as well.. Blogger to WordPress??? I plan to catch up with other AtoZ blogs over the next few weeks…

    Like

    • It does. If you go to the website you will see all the recipes (that is what they are called) are available. It stands for if this than that. You name it if it is an electronic action, you can make something happen when something first happens with IFTTT

      Like

  11. Paula Kaye says:

    I didn’t find you during the challenge but I am here today by way of the Road Trip. My grandson is a WW2 buff and he would enjoy your posts. I will send him over. See you on the road

    Like

  12. I landed up at your blog while on the Road Trip, looking at the World War II theme. Interesting and Intriguing indeed! The World War II created chaos in the economy worldwide, but born out of the chaos were some great companies which became epic brands and produced goods that are widely consumed today, Honda, Toyota, Nutella to name a few. Will drop in at your blog for future updates.

    Like

  13. Loving your theme 🙂 I think it’s really interesting seeing what everyone chose for their themes! A really positive reflection post – I have seen a fair few negative ones, sounds like you got a lot from the challenge.
    Popping by on the A to Z Road Trip
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

    Like