Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spfThe Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is to write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo above.

This week, I thought I’d try my hand at a form of poetry called a ballade. A ballade is a type of poetry, this type of poetry first became popular in the 14th century. A Ballade poem should have three stanzas and an envoy/ envoi. The rhyming pattern for the stanzas is ababbcbC. The rhyming pattern for the envoy is bcbC. The capital letter in the rhyming patterns shows where the refrain should be.

Credit: Joe Owens 2015

Credit: Joe Owens 2015

I Can and Want to Dream

The clouds fill the sky like smoke

Hiding the sun in nature’s canvas

The flora and the fauna add their stroke

I stand here thinking why I’m anxious

What’s my purpose in this madness

Where do I fit in this scheme

What in life can lead to gladness

Because I can and want to dream.

 

I wondered what tomorrow would provoke

Drudge, boredom and general drabness

Will the rain come and give a soak

I stand here pondering so near darkness

What’s my purpose in this blandness

Where do I fit on this team

What in life can end this sadness

Because I can and want to dream.

 

Remembering now the last time we spoke

The world didn’t end, still turns on its axis

But your words to me were a cruel joke

I stand here blind in this blackness

What’s my purpose in this badness

Don’t expect tears and I won’t scream

What in life can provide happiness

Because I can and want to dream.

 

I know now that you are callous

Not a nice person and not what you seem

Life continues without your cruelness

Because I can and want to dream.

7 responses

  1. That is beautiful! I loved it.

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    This is so brilliant! Very moving and so much feeling

    Like

  3. Tena Carr says:

    Nice bit of poetry.

    Like