Submitted for Mondays Finish the Story

Welcome to Mondays Finish the Story! In this challenge we are provided with photo and the opening line of a story. The challenge is to finish the story in 100-150 words!   If you also want to give it a try, you can read all about the challenge at the link at the top.

Credit: BW Beacham

Credit: BW Beacham

“Diamond Jack had his hideout next to the Rattle Snake River,” said Chester.

“Diamond Jack again. If I had a dollar for every time Dad told that tall tale, I’d be a rich woman. Dad has told it so many times, he believes it to be true,” said Kathy.

“Oh let him be. He is nearly 100 years old and if it makes him happy, the least we can do is let him tell it,” said George.

One year later……..

“It is hard to believe he’s gone. Last week he seemed so full of life and then he passed in his sleep. Did you know that Dad had a will?” said George.

“No I didn’t. I guess most people do but he never spoke about it. I was as surprised as you were when the letter came from an attorney in Concord, New Hampshire,” said Kathy.

George and Kathy traveled by train but couldn’t understand why their father used an attorney from out of state. The mystery was solved when the attorney began reading the will.

“I Chester B. Jackson, A.K.A. Diamond Jack bequeath my property next to the Rattle Snake River in Farmington, New Hampshire to my children.

4 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    I didn’t see that coming until the near the end-great story!

    Like

  2. LOL! He had a very good reason to believe it!

    Like