As many of you know, my mother had some medical issues that began at the end of October.  Last night she passed away at home and she will be truly missed.  Today I posted two videos dedicated to her on Facebook. I share them now with my wordpress community.

MaryRyanPortrait_Cropped

A few years ago my brother-in-law made this Irish American Oral History for a college project.

 

This recording by Bing Crosby singing Did You Mother Come From Ireland always reminds me of my mom.

8 responses

  1. ksbeth says:

    i’m so sorry for your loss.

    Like

    • Thank you. She lived a long full life, raised five children on her own as my father passed when we were very young. Her last two months were a struggle but overall she didn’t suffer for a long period for which I am grateful.

      Like

  2. roberthorvat says:

    I’m sorry for your loss Maryanne. This is a wonderful tribute.

    Like

  3. Sheryl says:

    Maryanne–I am so sorry to hear about your loss. It’s difficult to lose a parent. My thoughts are with you during this difficult time.

    Like

  4. Birgit says:

    This is sad news and I am sorry to hear this but what a beautiful tribute you have here and a lovely song to remember her by

    Like