Submitted for Haibun Thinking

haibun4plus21 Welcome to Haibun Thinking. A weekly writing challenge to create verse, prose and haiku using prompts from all areas of art including – but not limited to – movies, songs, art, photography etc.  It is all explained at the link above.  Use the link tool to submit your haibun and read others.  If you don’t know how to write the form haibun, there is information about it at the link above too.

It is Art Week, so we are presented with a painting and a photograph to write our story and haiku.  The photograph is quite interesting and can be viewed at the above link; however I have chosen the painting for my Haibun.

© Anja Partin

© Anja Partin

 

“I’m glad it’s the weekend and I can finally relax here with you and Sarah.”

“Was it a rough week, Russell”

“You know Lisa, it seems lately that many of them are but I don’t want to spoil our weekend with my office war stories.”

“I just put Sarah to bed about ten minutes ago.  She may still be awake if you want to say good night.”

Russell went to the back of the cabin and entered his daughter’s room.  He spent a few minutes looking down at his sleeping child.  “Oh well.  At least we have a three day weekend together.”

As Russell came back, Lisa poured two glasses of wine and settled on the sofa.  He joined her and asked, “So what did my two favorite ladies do today?”

“Oh it was a glorious day.  I just love it here on the Cape.  Sarah and I ran through a meadow and picked wildflowers.”

Russell smiled and leaned forward to kiss his wife.

“I really love this age with Sarah.  She’s old enough to carry on a conversation but still young enough to want me to hold her.  She said the funniest thing the other day.  I can’t even remember what it was but we really laughed for a long time.”

Russel continued to smile at his wife but on the inside, he was lost.  He barely knew his own daughter and he and his wife have become strangers.  His job has taken over his life and his life was no longer living.  Having to be away for weeks or even months sometimes with limited trips home is not what he expected when he made partner.  It was time for a change.

“Lisa, what would you say if I said I wanted to leave the firm and open my own practice?  I want to get back to practicing the kind of law I originally fell in love with.  At first it will be a lot less money but I’ll be home and able to spend more time with you and Sarah.”

In answer, Lisa took her husband in her arms and held on like she would never let go.

Time lost forever

Lovers becoming strangers

Change is in the air

7 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    Oh so powerful…and scary. When I read that once sentence, I didn’t want to read on for fear he would hang himself or shoot himself (…his life was no longer living). I was happy to read that he decided to be with his family. Love the ending poem-hopeful:)

    Like

  2. Bastet says:

    A lovely story … introspective and well written … often people get that feeling that work is taking them over and that there’s little sense in what they’re doing … few think they have options … your story tells us that there’s always a choice ..

    Like

  3. Al says:

    A powerful story Maryann. I remember when I was working at an airport in 1996. It was about five months after my son was born, and the money was fantastic, but I was leaving the house at 5am and getting home at 7pm. I wasn’t seeing my son at all as it was a seven day week job. I was so glad when I finished it and could see him regularly. It took the death of my ex-wife’s grandfather that made me realise how much I was missing out though.

    Like