Submitted for Mondays Finish the Story

This flash fiction weekly challenge began on October 6, 2014 and I decided to join it the first week.  Welcome to Mondays Finish the Story! In this challenge we are provided with photo and the opening line of a story. The challenge is to finish the story in 100-150 words!   If you also want to give it a try, you can read all about the challenge at the link at the top.  There has been a twist this week in that we are provided with the end of the story instead of the opening line.

I started this challenge with a serial story that I will run for a few weeks.  To start from the beginning, you can find Part 1 HERE. The story continues with The Colony (Part 3).

Photo Credit: 2014*10*20-bw-beacham

Photo Credit: 2014*10*20-bw-beacham

 The recovery team traveled to the island’s interior. Their tracking devices no longer accessed satellite GPS; so it became necessary for the Captain to rely on maps. Having marked Doctor Power’s last known location, Captain West hoped they’d find the colonists soon.

One of the team gestured for the Captain to come close. “Do you hear that low rumbling? I think it is voices but it is so faint, I can’t make out the words,” whispered Seaman Jones.

“We must be near. Stay alert men.”

As the team approached a group of bushes on the edge of a clearing, they saw creatures floating around busy at varied tasks.

“What are they doing Captain?

“I think we are looking at the alien females. I don’t see the colonists so my guess is they are somewhere with the alien males.

“I think I know where,” said Seaman Jones pointing at the sky. “Do you remember that old saying, “X marks the spot?””

 

Come back for next week’s Mondays Finish the Story to see how the story continues.

6 responses

  1. babso2you says:

    Nice continuation with the opening line at the end! I love this take and it works perfectly for your story! Thanks again for participating! ^;;^

    Like

  2. Al says:

    Another great episode 🙂 I love how you can do this so easily.

    Like

  3. Birgit says:

    This is so good and I love how you can weave the pictures in so seamlessly

    Like