Submitted for Haibun Thinking

haibun4plus21 Welcome to Haibun Thinking. A weekly writing challenge to create verse, prose and haiku using prompts from all areas of art including – but not limited to – movies, songs, art, photography etc.  It is all explained at the link above.  Use the link tool to submit your haibun and read others.  If you don’t know how to write the form haibun, there is information about it at the link above too.

It is Literature Week, so we are presented with a quote from a novel and a photograph to write our story and haiku.  The photograph is quite interesting and can be viewed at the above link; however I have chosen the literary quote for my Haibun.

“Grown up, and that is a terribly hard thing to do.
It is much easier to skip it
and go from one childhood to another.”
F. Scott Fitzgerald

There is nothing you can do about it.  They grow up.  One day they are dependent upon you for their every need and the next you hope you get a text.  Someday the roles may reverse and you’ll be dependent upon them.  For now you cherish all the memories.  Often just thinking about an event in your child’s life forms a tableau in your mind and you think of a remembered photograph.  Luckily in our digital age, sometimes that photograph is just a click away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh the years pass and will continue to pass.  Our children have so many opportunities today and this brings added responsibility and added dangers too.  While visiting colleges with her to help her decide, I can see how university life has changed.  Oh to do it all over again.  Sometimes I think I would choose to and other times I am thankful I don’t have to.  Yes our children have to grow up and so do we; but we can have things in our life that help us feel young.

Memory’s tableau

Capture youth and hold it close

Feel young in our hearts

10 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    Always cherish the memories and hold on to the present. A hug goes along way. I love your haiku

    Like

  2. Al says:

    I know where you are coming from with this one. My kids started college last month. It is odd not having them going to school. I remember when they were little bratlings, and now they are 16 and 18

    Like

    • My daughter is 16. She has more than a year until college and when that time comes it may be a few hours, a day’s drive or possibly a flight away.

      Like

      • Al says:

        Yeah. That’s the worst part. My son is just in the midst of changing colleges. His step was too much going from school straight into college. So he is going to one that will be a life skills course. It will teach him to cook, handle money, basic DIY skills, every thing he needs to survive on his own. Although I very much doubt he will ever move out. I worry about him after I have gone, but my daughter has said that she will look after him 🙂 So sweet for a 16 year old to say that of her older brother

        Like

  3. Penny L Howe says:

    I relate to this one, in more than a few ways. Nicely written, I really enjoyed reading your haibun and haiku, so well done!

    Like

  4. Lovely the way you are able to ponder the changes that we all confront, especially the place our children will hold in a world so different to ours. I’m glad I don’t have to do it all again either.

    Like

  5. Bastet says:

    sweet wisdom … and how well I know that feeling .. yes they grow up as do we but somehow we still stay young inside … loved the haibun!

    Like