Submitted for Haibun Thinking

haibun4plus21ITS BACK!  Welcome to Haibun Thinking. A weekly writing challenge to create verse, prose and haiku using prompts from all areas of art including – but not limited to – movies, songs, art, photography etc.  It is all explained at the link above.  Use the link tool to submit your haibun and read others.  If you don’t know how to write the form haibun, there is information about it at the link above too.

This writing prompt has made its return after a hiatus since I think April 2014.  It is Film Week, so we are presented with a film quote and a photograph to write our story and haiku.  The photograph is quite interesting and can be viewed at the above link; however I have chosen the film quote for my Haibun.

“You came here in that thing?
You’re braver than I thought.”
~ Carrie Fisher (Star Wars)

 She’s Not Old, She’s Vintage

“Don’t say it Stanley. No matter how many times this car breaks down, I won’t give up my VW,” said Claudia.

“I didn’t say anything.”

“You didn’t have to. It’s written all over your face.”

“Well Claudia, you’re probably the only person on a first name basis with her tow truck driver. I bet you have me on speed dial.”

“Harrumph. Molly has been with me a long time. We’ve been through a lot together.”

Stanley chuckled at her pet name for her car. “What do you say I take you to dinner after I put Molly to bed for the night?”

Stanley was always asking her out when he rescued her and her broken down Volkswagen Beetle. One of these days she just might take him up on it. Not tonight though. Tonight her grand babies were coming to stay for the weekend.

Before taking the car to his repair shop, Stanley brought Claudia home. When they pulled onto her street, the lights were blazing in her home.

“I guess my son has arrived. I’m glad I gave him a key last year so he didn’t have to wait.”

As the tow truck pulled up in front, Claudia’s son Michael came out of the house.

“Oh mom! I can’t believe you are still driving that old thing. You’re a brave woman.” He knew Stanley well and the two men shared a knowing glance.

“Peggy and I aren’t driving to the wedding until tomorrow morning now so you’ll have two more guests for tonight,” said Michael.

“You’re all out of excuses now Claudia. How about that dinner?”

Claudia hesitated and then plunged in, “Sure. I’d love to.”

“You go in and greet Peggy and your grand babies while I get this old gal into the shop. I’ll change my clothes and come back for you at 8:00 pm.”

“She’s not old, she’s vintage,” laughed Claudia. “I’ll see you soon.”

Vintage car trouble

Her wheels are like an old friend

Vintage car, new friend

I found this in google images and changed the car's name in my story.

I found this in Google images and changed the car’s name in my story to Molly.

9 responses

  1. Bastet says:

    Love it! A great new start.

    Like

  2. Al says:

    I love that. My sister names all of her cars as well 🙂 She had a Talbot Alpine that she called Alphie, and so many more I don’t remember

    Like

    • That is an appropriate name. I had to look it up as I don’t think it was sold in the US. I see what it looked like and that it was Chrysler’s European marketed car (France).

      Like

  3. Sheryl says:

    What a fun post! I want one of those pink VWs!

    Like

  4. Birgit says:

    Now that’s a well written piece based on the quote and new beginnings. My friend had an old jallopy he called Betsy…who could not go over 35 miles an hour

    Like

    • As nostalgic an old car can be, I think they require too much personal tinkering. It has to be a hobby for someone. I depend too much on my car for work, I’ll never be that person.

      Like