Fellow blogger, Al Forbes was challenged on Facebook to list ten books that had an effect on him and then tag 10 friends to do the same.  Like him, I’m not going to tag anyone but I’m up to the challenge.  If you want to read his list, click here.

I decided to not put a real lot of thought into the list so maybe thinking too much would result in a different list.  Here they are in no particular order:

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

A Woman of Substance by Barbara Taylor Bradford

A Woman of Substance by Barbara Taylor Bradford

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

 

Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer (My first introduction to my favorite fiction writer of all time)

Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer (My first introduction to my favorite fiction writer of all time)

 

I'll include another Jeffrey Archer, A Matter of Honor.  I really love all his work.

I’ll include another Jeffrey Archer, A Matter of Honor. I really love all his work.

A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux (My introduction to a novelist that would become my favorite historical romance writer of time.)

A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux (My introduction to a novelist that would become my favorite historical romance writer of time.)

In Harm's Way by Doug Stanton

In Harm’s Way by Doug Stanton

Ok it's not a single book but this series is wonderful

Ok it’s not a single book but this series is wonderful

Another collection.  Loved some more than others but overall couldn't put them down.  The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Another collection. Loved some more than others but overall couldn’t put them down. The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

 

7 responses

  1. Al says:

    I was hoping there would be at least one I had read there, but I do like the diversity of different people with books. I have never read any of these, but I have heard of them all. I saw an interview with Jeffrey Archer. Both he and his wife are writers and they write in different ways. She makes notes and writes when she feels like it, he has set times in the day where he writes, and he just clears his mind and lets go, letting the story write itself.

    Like

  2. To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my all-time favorites. I re-read it every few years.

    Like

  3. Birgit says:

    To Kill a Mockingbird is so great and I think it would be on many people’s list. “In Harm’s Way” would be disturbing to read but should be in every school to read so no one forgets what they went through. Diverse and great list

    Like

  4. Kate Loveton says:

    I’ve read almost all of the books on your list except those by Auel, and liked them all. I love it when people list their favorite books. I recently finished ‘Unbroken’ – what a story of courage and valor.

    Like