Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

Also submitted for Flash Frenzy Round 33 (see the rules at this link)

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is to write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below. With the link tool below, you can add your story as well as read all the amazing stories written by others.

Faded Memory

“Please tell me what has you upset,” said Dan.

“It’s nothing Dan. Let’s just have a nice dinner,” said Greta.

“I don’t like to see you so sad. Maybe I can help.”

The waiter came and took their orders. Afterwards, Greta took a deep breath and began to speak.

“Remember when we first met I told you that something traumatic happened when I was seven years-old. So traumatic that I blacked it out?”

“You said you saw a therapist.”

“I’m still seeing the therapist Dan and something happened today that triggered a memory so vivid I ran out of his office.”

“Tell me.”

“My therapist has this desktop pendulum. You know silver balls strung on wire and once you start them swinging, they don’t stop. When I went to sit down, I bumped the doctor’s desk and started the pendulum. I watched the silver balls moving back and forth. In a trance, a faded memory played out like watching a movie.”

“Did you see something from that time long ago?”

“We were in a deserted park near a fountain. My father was arguing with a woman then he held her head under the water. Dan, she looked just like me.”

7 responses

  1. A worrying situation. Suppressed memories suddenly reappearing can’t be very nice.
    Perhaps just avoid the shrinks.

    Like

  2. Al says:

    Ouch!! Not the type of memory you want to bring up. Someone who appears to be your mother being killed by your father.

    Like

  3. Steve Lakey says:

    The suspense builds well here. And such a chilling finish! 🙂

    Like

  4. Birgit says:

    Oh boy! Something traumatic can make a person forget but, yet, it changes them forever. I believe it is a way to survive. Great story and now I want to know more

    Like

  5. Pat says:

    This certainly was an unforeseen response to this prompt — truly a chilling twist. Well written!

    Like