Wow a major quake hits California today. I remember the one 25 years ago well and wrote about.
http://abcnews.go.com/US/northern-california-struck-60-magnitude-earthquake/story?id=25101008

IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE

In the fall of 1989, I was working for a regional bank and I went to a conference in San Francisco.  While there, my colleagues and I also had an opportunity to do some sightseeing. We spent time at Fishermen’s Wharf, traveled over the Golden Gate Bridge, visited Napa Valley and returned by the Bay Bridge.  I remember feeling tremors during some of the conference sessions but I understood from other people that it was not uncommon in California.

SF89

About a week or so after  returning from the conference, I had the shock of my life.  On October 17, 1989, an earthquake hits the San Francisco Bay Area.  I am watching the aftermath unfold on television and seeing many of the areas that we had visited.  The earthquake killed 67 people and caused more than $5 billion in damages. Though this was one of the most powerful and destructive earthquakes ever to…

View original post 442 more words

One response

  1. Birgit says:

    I would love to visit this city but I would not want to live there because it is right on the fault. All of California is on, excuse the term, shaky grounds

    Like