flash-fiction-badge1I am coming late to the game and more than fashionably late but I decided to participate in the 2014 Flash Fiction Challenge.  This weekly challenge is brought to us by Thain in Vain.

Challenge Guidelines

One flash fiction story a week under 500 words for 52 weeks. Stories must be under 500 words and contain the classic story elements: protagonist, obstacles or complications, and resolution. In essence, a beginning, middle, and end. Keep in mind that the limited length of flash fiction often demands some of these elements remain unwritten–only to be hinted at or implied. Get creative!

Tell the host you are participating by leaving a comment and the host will add your name or blog to the participant list.

Tell the world that you are participating by adding the challenge badge to your blog. Simply save the image to your desktop and upload.

Flash Fiction Challenge – Prompt 33

Prompt: Open the book you are reading right now (or a favorite if you aren’t reading anything, oh, and shame on you!), turn to page 33 (or 33% on e-readers) and write a super flash fiction about the first proper noun (person, place or thing) on the page! Word count is 500 as usual, but feel free to use 33 as your word count for this week!!

I’m rising to the challenge from the novel, W is for Wasted (Kinsey Millhone Mystery) by Sue Grafton.  On page 33, the first proper noun is KEN.

The Blind Date

“Trust me. Mark ensures me that he has heard good things about Ken,” said Marla.

“I know you mean well, but none of these blind dates ever work out,” said Sharon.

“I don’t have a photograph to show you but he has relocated here from California. He has blond hair, blue eyes and still has a California tan. He’s an executive in plastics manufacturing. I believe he’s never been married but I think there had been a long-term relationship at one point.”

“Ok. If I agree to go out with this Ken, will you make this the last one even if it doesn’t work out?”

“It’s a deal but I have good feeling about this one. He’ll meet you at Club Cabana at 8 pm Friday for drinks.”

Marla and Sharon stepped off the elevator and left the office for the day.

__________

Friday evening, Sharon parked her car near Club Cabana and walked a short distance to the entrance. As she opened the door, she could hear the loud pounding music. Club Cabana was a new dance club in the city and the crowd was a sign that it was becoming a popular hotspot. Sharon looked around and then headed to the bar. She didn’t have a photograph of Ken but from Marla’s description, she spotted him sitting at the end of the bar.

“You must be Ken, I’m Sharon.”

“No but I sure wish I was Ken. Why don’t you forget about Ken and have a drink with Mike?”

Stepping back, Sharon said, “No thank you.”

From behind her she heard, “Sorry I’m late Sharon. It was hard to find parking.”

Sharon turned around and knew Marla was right about Ken being in plastic manufacturing. Standing before her was Barbie’s long-term boyfriend, Ken.

12 responses

  1. Haha! This is fun! Nice reference about never being married, but in a long-term relationship!! Great work and welcome aboard! TiV

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    Funny ending and it seems like she would now rather be sitting with Mike. Great story

    Like

  3. […] “The Blind Date“ If Only I Had a Time Machine […]

    Like

  4. J. Grace says:

    Funny!! 🙂 I love the O. Henry-esque twist at the end.

    Like

  5. Megan says:

    Fun story. I loved the ending!

    Like

  6. Mark Baron says:

    Ha! Awesome ending, completely didn’t expect it. Welcome to FFC52 – I look forward to reading more of your works!

    Like