Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below. With the link tool below, you can add your story as well as read all the amazing stories written by others.

This is a multiple part story.  To follow the story from the beginning, click hereAnd now, The Diaries, Part 14.

 

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

 

“Papi? Are you awake Papi?” said Frank

“I hear you. I’m old but I’m not deaf,” answered Franz Lucas.

“Brock and Hans have been arrested in the United States. They failed.”

“You failed me too. The three of you are like three silly stones in a garden.”

“We tried. It was because of my connections that we know about the diaries and the letter. I’m not going to fail you.”

“Why did you come back to Buenos Aires?

“I think the Appleton’s spotted my car outside their house when they returned from New York. They didn’t come home with the diaries.”

“Go back and get me that letter. Do whatever it takes to end this now. Do you know what will happen if the world finds out that I survived? I have no regrets of my actions during the war but if I am captured, I will be executed and our family disgraced.”

“Papi you have often stated that you have no regrets but you never really told us much about that time.”

Franz Lucas stared at his son. His stare was dark and evil and many times over the years, Frank was forced into silence. Today was no exception.

 

 

 

7 responses

  1. Al says:

    When I posted this, I thought – “I can see Maryann having a problem with this” Nope, not even a flicker. Fantastic. I love it.

    Now we find out WHY he wanted the diaries. That was a twist i didn’t see.

    Like

  2. AnElephant reads only as a stand alone story.
    It is excellent.

    Like

  3. Birgit says:

    OK I thought about this picture..Really?? How will she incorporate this?? I would be like a chicken in the headlights but not you! You incorporated this beautifully and this old SOB should have been dealt with years ago and his own family has no idea. This is very intriguing

    Like

  4. J. Raven says:

    Excellent job with this! 🙂

    Like