Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below. With the link tool below, you can add your story as well as read all the amazing stories written by others.

This is a multiple part story.  To follow the story from the beginning, click hereAnd now, The Diaries, Part 13. (Sorry that I went over the 200 this week.  I couldn’t seem to cut the extra and still tell this part of the story.)

 

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

 

“Not surprising the secrets underneath Bletchley. George would you mind reading for a while?”

“Pass me the diary.”

As Karla passed him the diary, a small envelop fluttered to the floor. George picked it up and said, “It’s addressed to your grandma and the postmark is Buenos Aires, Argentina.”

 July 27, 1945

 My Dearest Caroline,

 If you are reading this letter, then my dear friend Carlotta, at great risk, sent it to you when I didn’t survive. Since the war in Europe ended in May, I don’t think it is a risk to tell you about my life since we were last together.   I’ve been involved in intelligence for our beloved England. The morning after our walk along the lake, I received orders to travel by ship to South America and I was not able to tell you about my mission. Argentinean President Juan Peron(1) was orchestrating asylum to Nazis and my job has been to document and track their location. In particular, a Nazi officer who I know had been at Auschwitz is living the high life here in Buenos Aires. It is my highest hope that my reports have made it through and Dr. Franz Lucas (2), a colleague of Josef Mengele (2), pays for his crimes. In my report, I described the mountainous region where there is a secret underground domicile hidden among ancient low stonewalls.

 I love you Caroline and I wanted to spend the rest of my life with you. I hope you find someone special to love and have a good life.

 Love,

 Samuel

“I think we know what those thugs were after?”

 

Story Notes:

My story is fiction; however aspects are routed in truth. (1) Here is an interesting article from 2012 about the Nazis in South America  (2) These two Nazi names are real Nazis and were connected with the concentration camps; however for my story, they are just names to use.

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    Now we are getting to the thick of things! I love the detail of this story and what a shame Sam died. This is getting better and better

    Like

  2. Al says:

    Ooooh. There would be a hell of a lot of loot there.

    Like