Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below. With the link tool below, you can add your story as well as read all the amazing stories written by others.

This is a multiple part story.  To follow the story from the beginning, click hereAnd now, The Diaries, Part 11.

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

 

“We’ve reached the end of the first diary and I still don’t know what makes them so important.”

“She’s been working at Bletchley a year now and her diary entries are getting very sparse. There aren’t more than one or two entries a month. I guess with the Official Secrets Act it is what is expected.”

“Let’s read on. There must be a reason those German thugs or who they represent wanted the diaries so bad.”

July 5, 1941

I had dinner with Samuel last night. It was so romantic. The one thing that is good about blackouts is candlelight dinners. I can see the strain of the war on his face. With where we work, I can understand his weariness. He smiled and held my hand during dinner. Afterwards we walked along the lake and Samuel asked me to become his wife. We’ll need to wait until the war is over but we made promises to each other.

July 31, 1941

I haven’t seen Samuel since the night he proposed. He hasn’t been at Bletchley and people stop talking when I pass them in the hall. I know something has happened but I don’t know how to find out.

 

 

4 responses

  1. Al says:

    Yikes. Possible traitor or something very dangerous. I do like the way this is going

    Like

  2. Lyn says:

    Thoroughly intriguing!

    Like

  3. Birgit says:

    He’s been caught!? I believe he is true blue but more to read about this romantic duo

    Like