historical-fiction Each Friday as an alternative way of posting about a historical event that occurred on this day in history, I will weave the event into a fictional story while still providing all the necessary facts.

Hollywood Bowl

 

“Jimmy your a gem for getting tickets for opening night,” crooned Liza.

“Anything for my special gal.  A man I know asked me what I was doing on July 11th and here we are.”

“Things are really looking up.  The war is well behind us, its 1922 and I’m about to listen to the Los Angeles Philharmonic with the love of my life.  What else could a girl from Wichita ask for?”

Jimmy put his hand on the small of Liza’s back and guided her onto their bench.

Saturday Evening Post cover,by Ellen Bernard Thompson Pyle of Wilmington. February 4, 1922. Norman Rockwell

Saturday Evening Post cover,by Ellen Bernard Thompson Pyle of Wilmington. February 4, 1922. Norman Rockwell

 

“It’s one of the world’s largest natural amphitheaters.  These wooden benches set on the hillsides of the canyon are moveable.”

“My aunt Bessie attended a sunrise Easter service back in 1921.  She couldn’t stop talking about it when I told her you were taking me to the Hollywood Bowl.  The Los Angeles Philharmonic performed then too.”

Easter Sunrise, 1921

Easter Sunrise, 1921

Easter Sunday Service at the Hollywood Bowl

Easter Sunday Service at the Hollywood Bowl

German born conductor, Alfred Hertz took the stage and Liza and Jimmy were swept away by the music.

 

 

4 responses

  1. Janine says:

    I love this way of reading history!

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    This is a great way to capture history and a time gone by. I believe I saw this in the film “Anchor’s Aweigh” I could be wrong. Whew-I caught up on all your posts. I was gone for a few days (to the Jimmy Stewart Museum in Indianna PA and the Lucille Ball museum in Jamestown)

    Like

  3. Birgit says:

    Oh you should check out the museum and his town-reminded me of Bedford Falls. I think as more people pass away, less people will be going to his museum and one day it may close which is sad. Lucille Ball is more recognized due to TV and promotions. Yes it is about 3 hrs apart but it was on our way home so it worked out perfectly

    Like