In honor of father’s day, please enjoy the beginning of my blog about my father and his WWII ship, the USS Hornet (CV-12)

USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father's Untold War Story

John T. Ryan US Navy John T. Ryan US Navy

I decided to start this introduction by repeating what I wrote in the blog’s “About”.

My father, John T. Ryan (Jack) was born in the early years after World War I and due to heart failure, he passed away before the Vietnam War was in the history books.  In between he grew to manhood in Philadelphia, enlisted in the US Navy, went to war serving on the USS Hornet Aircraft Carrier (CV-12), met and married my mom in the late 1950s and fathered five children.  Due to my age when he passed away, I never really knew my father and so I never had the opportunity to hear his stories of World War II.  In this blog, I will attempt to tell his World War II story through the history of the aircraft carrier USS Hornet (CV-12).  It will lack the personal stories that I…

View original post 443 more words

2 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    I went back and read the history. It gives you and others an idea of what it was like on the ship and the struggles they went through and how they coped with it. Love that one pic of the man in the bra-made me laugh. They needed that with what they were facing

    Like

    • That photograph made me laugh too. I like to think of my dad blowing off steam when they get a little bit of a break during a really intense time in world history. Thanks for reading and for your comments

      Like