Anne Frank

Anne Frank

On June 12, 1942, Anne Frank, a young Jewish girl living in Amsterdam, receives a diary for her 13th birthday. A month later, she and her family went into hiding from the Nazis in rooms behind her father’s office. For two years, the Franks and four other families hid, fed and cared for by Gentile friends including Miep Gies (died in 2010 age 100).

anne-frank-house-for-blog

The families were discovered by the Gestapo, which had been tipped off, in 1944. The Franks were taken to Auschwitz, where Anne’s mother died. Friends in Amsterdam searched the rooms and found Anne’s diary hidden away.  Anne and her sister were transferred to another camp, Bergen-Belsen, where Anne died of typhus a month before the war ended.  Anne’s father survived Auschwitz and published Anne’s diary in 1947 as The Diary of a Young Girl. The book has been translated into more than 60 languages.

The Diary of a Young Girl on display at the Anne Frank Zentrum in Berlin, Germany.

The Diary of a Young Girl on display at the Anne Frank Zentrum in Berlin, Germany.

6 responses

  1. roberthorvat says:

    One of my amazing (young) women who inspire us ! Thanks Maryanne.

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    It is so powerful to read her diary. When i was a teen I read it every year of my high school. I found her wise beyond her years and a great role model. She talked about boys and a crush she had on the other family’s son and her first period and the problems with her mom. I could relate to all of that and be in awe how they struggled while hiding and had to keep so quiet. I had the honour of going to their hiding place and be able to look through the same window and see the church steeple she would always look at. It made me tear up to know that we lost a wonderful talent one of millions during such a tragic war (all wars are tragic)

    Like

    • Last year my daughter and I attended a stage production of her diary. At the end the audience was dead silent. You wanted to clap for a wonderful performance but the story had you in silence and contemplation instead

      Like

  3. It was only a few weeks ago that I went to the Anne Frank House for the first time. I grew up in Sweden and red her diary as a teenager. Now I live in the Netherlands, and I went together with our daughter (10), she recently read the diary too. I had not thought that the visit would be so emotional to me, I had thought I knew what to expect, so my tears caught me by surprise when we were in there. It was a very special experience, and I am grateful I could share it with our daughter. I now look forward to reading the diary again, in Dutch, the original language.
    Thank you very much for this post!

    Like

  4. Janine says:

    Reblogged this on Berlin Memories and commented:
    Another great post by Maryanne….

    Like