This is submitted for Tuesday Track

Tuesday Track is a Weekly Music Prompts series. If you’d like to participate just let the music prompt a story (fiction or non-fiction), inspire a photograph, an edit, a drawing, a poem, whatever gets your heart going today. Post the result by Friday.  At the link above “Tuesday Track”, post your link in the comments.

This weeks song is Turning Tables by Adele and I recommend clicking on the link below and having a listen even if you are already familiar with the song.  It is a performance at the Royal Albert Hall and just beautiful.

 

When Kim entered her apartment, the light was blinking on her answering machine.  She dropped her textbooks on the kitchen table and pressed the button to listen to the message.  When she heard his voice, she had to sit down.

“Hey babe.  I’m in town and thought I’d get in touch.  My cell number is still the same, so give me a ring when you get this message,” said Sam.

The next message began to play.  “Wow your still putting in long hours.  Give me a call,” said Sam.

It has been three years and he was the last person she thought she’d ever hear from.  She can still remember that morning following his graduation from law school like it was yesterday.  She didn’t want to but she remembered the conversation.

“Kim I’ve taken a position at a law firm in Chicago.  I’ll be leaving at the end of the week.”

“Just like that Sam?  Aren’t we going to discuss it?  The plan was that I’d work while you go to law school and then I’d get my turn,” said Kim.  “I’m enrolled for the summer semester.”

“That is a good plan.  I think this would be a good time for us to try it apart.”

“What does that mean?  How can we afford my schooling and live separately?”

“What I mean is that I am moving to Chicago and I don’t want to be with you any longer.”

That was it.  He moved out and she hadn’t seen or heard from him in three years.  That last message on the answering machine made Kim angry.  Of course she put in long hours.  Kim was working full-time while attending classes at night.  By August she will have her degree which she earned without Sam’s help.

The telephone rang again.  Kim decided to not put it off any longer.  She picked up the handset and said, “Hello.”

“Hi Kim.  It’s Sam.  I was wondering if I could stop by the apartment so we can talk.”

“I’m not sure we have anything to talk about.”

“My firm has transferred me back to Philadelphia and I thought we could start where we left off.  I need a place to stay and two can live cheaper than one.”

Kim paused.  She didn’t know what to say.  She took a deep breath and finally said, “I won’t let you close enough to hurt me.  No, I won’t rescue you to just desert me.”

“Why don’t we meet for a drink tomorrow night?  I miss you.”

“I don’t think so Sam.  I am nearly finished with my schooling and I’ve had some job offers in New York so I may be leaving Philadelphia.  Besides, I don’t want to start where we left off.  I’ve moved on and I don’t want you to be a part of my life.  Goodbye Sam.”

Kim hung up the telephone and breathed.  That may have been one of the hardest things she ever did but she was proud of her strength.

2 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    Oh my good for her! How many women have been in such a position before and some men think that they can just carry on and we would wither & bat our lashes at them. Love the power of strength and the song goes so along with this story.

    Like