Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below.  Today I start a multiple part story.  Please enjoy, The Diaries (Part 1)

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

After work, Karla was shocked when she was able to drive the car into the garage. George had been out of work for months; however cleaning out the garage has been on his list of things to do for years.

“Be positive and don’t use the word finally,” said Karla to herself.

She found George on the couch watching a baseball game.

“You were a busy man today. The garage looks great,” said Karla.

“A local television commercial guaranteed your garage or basement cleared in four hours or it’s free. I called and they came with a truck and hauled it all away.”

“All?”

“Here is the contract. It was only five-hundred dollars because they expect to make money from our junk.”

Karla read, “The owner transfers title of the entire contents of the garage and the owner confirms that any property not included has been removed. Did you go through and remove any items?”

“Wasn’t it all junk?”

“My grandmother’s diaries were stored in the garage. You knew about my summer genealogical project. I’ll call the company.”

Picking up the telephone, Karla entered the number from the contract.

A man answered, “Pronto Pizza, delivery or pick up?”

 

13 responses

  1. Al says:

    Ooooh that’s a twist. A good start to another series Maryann

    Like

  2. Birgit says:

    Oooh that is a twist and now I want to know what is in the diaries

    Like

  3. Oh dear… someone is in trouble!

    Like

  4. Steve Lakey says:

    “George!”… Would love to see this continue. 🙂

    Like

  5. aloha Maryann. part 1 is “yikes”. and (imo) works well on it’s own—altho that may be your intent with each part. i am curious how the parts will emerge. if they are already written or if you will weave your story with what ever the “next prompt” brings. . . . which might be a very interesting process to follow. fun. aloha.

    Like

    • Although I don’t have the story written in advance, I sometimes I have a general idea of how the story will unfold and I just see how I can fit Al’s photos fit into it. Other times I just wing it. This time I am thinking ahead a little in that I know there something important in the diaries and the people that cleared the garage knew it.

      Like

  6. […] part story.  To follow the story, I have provided links to each of the previous parts.   In part 1, unemployed George thought he was checking something major off his “Honey Do List” but […]

    Like

  7. […] part 1, unemployed George thought he was checking something major off his “Honey Do List” but […]

    Like