KNational Kite Month is underway.  It is March 29 – May 4, 2014.  Kites have been around for a very long time and although the exact date and origin of the kite is not known but it is believed that they were flown in China more than two thousand years ago. One legend suggests that when a Chinese farmer tied a string to his hat to keep it from blowing away in a strong wind, the first kite was born. The earliest written account of kite flying was about 200 B.C. when the Chinese General Han Hsin of the Han Dynasty flew a kite over the walls of a city he was attacking to measure how far his army would have to tunnel to reach past the defenses. Knowing this distance his troops reached the inside of the city, surprised their enemy, and were victorious. Kite flying was eventually spread by traders from China to Korea, and across Asia to India. Each area developed a distinctive style of kite and cultural purpose for flying them.

4651371_f520

Kite flying continues to be popular around the world today.

tube-kites-bob-christopher

11 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    I did not know Kites were this old. I knew they were old but not “ancient”:) I think kites are so beautiful but whenever I tried it I found it, well, boring-hahahaha. Interesting about the Kite used by the general. They used Kites in the 2 world wars too I believe

    Like

  2. This time of the year is a good time to fly kites. There’s usually nice wind. My grandkids are on vacation this coming week I plan to take them to the park to fly kites. I knew nothing about national kite month.

    Like

  3. Prem Rao says:

    Kite flying is a huge thing in India, where I live. It’s one of those pastimes where you get totally lost and the hours fly by until you realize the day is almost over as the sun goes down.

    Like

  4. suziretzlaff says:

    It’s interesting to know the background behind kite flying. I love watching kites. Every once in a while you can see them up about the houses in the neighborhood, during the summer.

    Most of my kites have been pretty basic, but I have one now that’s a lot more fun. Box shaped. In the summer, our park districts usually have a kit day, where everyone meets, more so children, to fly kites in a big open area. It’s fun to see the wonderment on kids’ faces when they see all those kites in the air.

    Like

  5. Sheryl says:

    I really like the pictures that you used to illustrate this post.

    Like

  6. Glenda Cates says:

    As much as I love Kites I have never been able to keep one in the air but I should try as my son is now old enough to fly one and he might be better at it than I am.

    Like