Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is to write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below.  This is a serial story, so I encourage you to read part 1 , part 2 , part 3, part 4 ,part 5 and part 6 And now, the Incident, part 7.

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Meanwhile next door, Mr. Woolsey answered his telephone.  “Hello.”

“Frank, it’s Miranda.”

“Howdy partner.  How are things in Texas?”

“With a heavy fog from the Gulf of Mexico, my flight is delayed.  I can’t seem to reach Joanna.  She isn’t answering at home or her cellphone.”

“I just saw her at your house less than thirty minutes ago.  I’ll go back over and ask her to call you.”

“Thank you Frank.  We had planned for her to pick me up at the airport but now I don’t know when my flight will arrive.”

“OK be safe.  See you soon,” said Frank as he hung up.

Frank Woolsey walked onto his front porch and heard the sound of glass breaking in the area of Miranda’s house.  He witnessed a figure dressed in dark clothing climbing through the window.  Taking out his cellphone, Frank pressed 9-1-1 but nothing happened.  He tried again but realized his cellphone was not working.  Racing back into the house, he called from the home line.

“Castlegrove 9-1-1 operator.  What is your emergency?”

“This is Frank Woolsey at 125 Cavendish Place.  I witnessed a home invasion at 127.  There are four women alone in the home.  Hurry.”

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

8 responses

  1. Al says:

    Fantastic use of the prompt and a possible saviour in the neighbour. This is the one I was going to use last week 🙂

    Like

  2. J. Raven says:

    oh nice! I’m betting he can’t wait with those poor girls next door. Decisions! Great use of the prompt!

    Like

  3. EagleAye says:

    Great tension in this one. You got me wanting more.

    Like

  4. Very realistic and well written. This is something that could happen anywhere. That’s really a good neighbor.

    Like