ogre-castle-wordsThis story today is written for a writing challenge hosted by Adam Ickes.  Welcome to Storybook Corner, a monthly flash fiction prompt held on the 21st of each and every month.

The challenge, for those of us who choose to accept it, is to write a story based on the prompt provide below.  The goal is to end up with a story with a beginning, middle, and end that falls anywhere between 300 and 500 words in length.  Make every word count, but don’t fret too much if you can’t hit the word count. Sometimes stories refuse to be constrained. Sometimes those are the only stories worth telling.

Try to read as many of the other stories as you can in the time you have available. We all work hard on our stories and like to share our work with as many readers as possible.

This month’s prompt will be the following image:

img_20140222_145628

With shaking hands, Millie sipped her tea and waited.

“Where is my husband, Howard?” she cried.

“We telephoned him.  He is on his way Mrs. Fox.  The detective will need to ask you some questions about what you witnessed,” soothed Officer Karen Jones.

“I’m so scared.  He looked at me,” whimpered Millie Fox.

After arriving, Howard went to Millie and pulled her into his arms.  Tears were streaming down her face.

“I’m here Millie.  Don’t worry, we’ll get through this together,” said Howard.

“I’m so afraid Howard.”

“Good afternoon.  I’m Detective Sam Forman,” said a tall man standing at the office door.

Sam pulled a chair in front of Millie and sat down facing her.  “Mrs. Fox may I call you Millie?”

Millie nodded but didn’t look at Sam.  She grasped her husband’s hands tightly.

“I know you’ve been through quite an ordeal today but you can be very helpful to us.  With your help, we can apprehend the person that committed a brutal crime.  Take your time and in you own words, please take us back to when you arrived at the bank today and tell us what you saw.”

“I’m so afraid.  I don’t know if I should.  I know he saw me.  He’ll find me and hurt me.”

“I can understand your fears Millie.  If you help us, we can take him off the streets.”

Millie hesitated but then she began.  “Friday is my shopping day so Howard drove me into town and dropped me off at the bank.  I planned to cash a check and then walk to the shops.  Howard would come back to pick me up at noon.”

“What time were you dropped off?” ask Sam.

Not being sure, Millie looked to Howard for help.  “It would have been about ten o’clock,” offered Howard.

“Despite the cold and there being snow on the ground, it was a bright day and I could see the park across the street reflected in the glass.  There was movement of people in the reflection too and then I heard a woman scream.  When I turned around, I saw two people struggling.  One of them, a man raised his hand and plunged it down upon the woman.  I don’t know if it was a knife but the woman collapsed.  When I screamed, the man looked at me and then ran off.  I rushed into the bank to get help.”

“If you had a good look, do you think you could describe him to a police artist?” asked Sam.

“Maybe.  I’m not sure.”

“We’ll be in touch about the police artist.  I just have one more question.  Have you ever seen the suspect before today?”

Hesitating, Millie stared at her husband.  “I don’t think so.”

Later in their car, Howard turned to Millie and said, “Why did you hesitate at the detectives last question?”

“James has been gone from our lives for ten years so I can’t really be sure.  I think I saw our son stab that woman.”

6 responses

  1. Good, well-written story with a surprise twist at the end. Excellent dialogue.

    Like

  2. draliman says:

    Ooh, more than one reason to be reluctant to give testimony, then.
    Great twist at the end!

    Like