Copyright -Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright -Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Mike wanted more than “hello” with the woman in 101b.  She was sitting on a bench in the courtyard.

“Hello Sarah?” said Mike.

She looked at him with fear.

“You don’t recognize me?  It’s Mike.”

“My key broke and the manager’s out,” stammered Sarah.

“Come wait in my apartment.  It’s a short ride in the elevator.”

“I don’t use elevators.”

“We can take the stairs.”

“Can’t take the stairs either.”

She saw the look on his face.  “Bathmophobia, the fear of stairs.  I’ve been diagnosed with it and other phobias.”

He thought this was a clever brush off.

“I’m claustrophobic but luckily I’m not xenophobic, ” she said with a smile.

“I don’t fear strangers either,” laughed Mike.

***********************************************

Submitted for Friday Fictioneers.  This is a fun writing prompt challenge.  Rochelle supplies a photograph to guide your writing and the word limit is 100.  Give it a try.

friday-fictioneers

33 responses

  1. Good one Maryann, excellent dialogue and exploration of characters.

    Like

  2. Humorous dialogue nice take on the prompt!

    Like

  3. Dear Maryann,

    I’d say the lady in 101b has a rather limited life due to all her phobias. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  4. Nice dialogue back and forth. Sounds like she has an encyclopedic knowledge of phobias. Luckily she doesn’t have claustrophobia and agoraphobia both or she’d be in real trouble.
    -David

    Like

  5. That’s quite a litany of phobias, Maryann, but such a nicely written story relating them. I enjoyed it. The only thing that I felt was a little out of place was her last “either” (with the no fear of strangers. That implies that she had mentioned other things she didn’t have but she only mentioned the one. Does that make sense?

    janet

    Like

  6. JudahFirst says:

    Totally believable dialogue. I like hearing Mike’s thoughts, as well. Good job!

    Like

  7. Shandra says:

    Boy, tell him to think twice before getting involved with such issues… Er…getting involved with someone who is clearly such an interesting Character. 🙂 nice!

    Like

  8. Interesting how life can throw 2 people together! Very enjoyable read.

    Like

  9. Good story with great dialogue. I would agree that Mike should be friendly but cautious until he knows her better. She has problems and needs professional help.

    Like

  10. Ah.. think it will work out well

    Like

  11. Nan Falkner says:

    I like them both – EVERYONE has hangups somewhere and I loved the dialogue! Good job, Maryann. Thanks, Nan 🙂

    Like

  12. Great humour here! And loved the dialogue.

    Like