Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is to write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below.  This is a serial story, so I encourage you to read part 1.  And now, the Incident, part 2.

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

The following week, Marisa’s friends drove to the University and parked near Wilson Hall.

“I think I’m getting paranoid,” said Joanna.

“Why?” asked Mary.

“I see that large black bird on the grass of the quad and I think it’s watching us.”

The women hurried into Wilson Hall.

“I found out that there are no classes this afternoon in the Woodrow Wilson Lecture Hall,” said Joanna.

“Won’t it be locked?” asked Karen.

“I made up a story about planning an alumni event to gain access.”

In the lecture hall, the room was mostly unchanged.  Woodrow Wilson’s portrait still hung on the front wall.

“Do you remember how nervous Professor Jones seemed when he met us for tutoring?” said Linda.

“He was very distracted and we offered to make it another time,” said Joanna.  “I can still visualize him reaching for the pitcher of water.”

“Arsenic in the water,” said Karen.

“Never solved,” said Mary.  “How will we solve it?”

Across campus, a surveillance system connected to a laptop computer was snapping pictures.  The stuffed raven had been a brilliant decoy for the camera and too bad Woodrow Wilson’s portrait had to be defaced to put a camera behind the eyes.

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

5 responses

  1. J. Raven says:

    Looking forward to Part 3!

    Like

  2. Al says:

    Wow. Brilliant. I love how you just add the image straight in as if it was always supposed to be there. I may have to try and find something difficult for you 😉 Hehe just kidding. I love this story and the espionage

    Like