Have you ever taken part in a writing chain?

Kerrie Salsac has created a novel writing challenge. Head over to her place to take a look.  You can see all the rules there too.

chain-writing-game

Here is my first submission for He’s Behind You

cubicles

Putting on his best smile, Ben stood and walked towards Kelly’s cubicle.  He was just about to ask her if she wanted to get a cup of coffee when the fire alarm began to sound.

“Did management really schedule a drill first thing Monday morning?” complained Kelly.  “Most of the staff isn’t even in yet.”

“I don’t think the powers that be have a clue,” answered Ben shaking his head.  “I guess we better comply.”

“I know it’s against the rules, but these drills are always the same.  Let’s take the elevator instead of walking down ten floors,” conspired Kelly.

13 responses

  1. kerrieanns says:

    Hmmm.. I have a feeling today is not the day to break the rules 😛

    Like

    • Let’s hope experiencing an intense situation together will help Ben and Kelly get together. That’s if a maniac killer isn’t lurking around with the FBI on his tail. 🙂

      Like

      • kerrieanns says:

        So Kelly is the brown haired girl? I wasn’t sure 😛

        Like

        • I didn’t think Tony from accounts was the girl in the cube next door. I wasn’t sure if Tony was a man or woman but I didn’t get the impression that Ben liked the person so assumed that call was from another office/floor.

          Like

          • kerrieanns says:

            Nah I had Tony pegged as a guy, and thought he’d be ringing from another floor 🙂
            I just didin’t know if Kelly was a friend, because of the banter 😛
            Guess our girl is a confident one for asking a guy she doesn’t know to join her in the elevator 😉
            It’s going to be fun 😀

            Like

  2. EagleAye says:

    Looks like you’re setting the stage nicely. Things should start getting sticky from here.

    Like

  3. draliman says:

    Now’s Ben’s chance to get her alone – already! Of course, it might be a real fire 😦

    Like

    • Sometimes it takes an intense situation to bring people together. Alas it seems from reading on that the intensity is not fire or earthquake but something a little different 🙂

      Like

  4. J. Milburn says:

    Darn it, if I’d thought about it, I would have mentioned Aerosmith’s “Love in an Elevator” playing over the speakers 😉 Reading on…they really should have taken the stairs 😀

    Like

  5. I read forward so I could write mine. It seemed like it would of been a sweet love story.

    Like

    • I thought so. I thought they would be trapped on an elevator and love would blossom but of course there would be a creature and something not quite right at the corporation. I have to figure my next contribution somehow.

      Like