copyright-erin-leary

copyright-erin-leary

“My mom looked funny when I asked to bring my lunch today,” said Sean.

“My dad had already left for work, so I pocketed the lunch money and made myself a PB&J sandwich,” chuckled Luke.

“I’m glad I stashed my gear in your shed yesterday.  There was no way I was missing opening day of fishing season,” said Sean

Never skipping school before, the boys cut through the woods leading to the creek.  Along the path, they heard voices and came upon two older boys standing over the body of a third.  Sean screamed when he saw the bloody knife.

***********************************************

Submitted for Friday Fictioneers.  This is a fun writing prompt challenge.  Rochelle supplies a photograph to guide your writing and the word limit is 100.  Give it a try.

friday-fictioneers

28 responses

  1. elmowrites says:

    Uh-oh, these boys got more than they bargained for, it seems!

    Like

  2. claireful says:

    I wasn’t expecting that, and I don’t suppose Sean and Luke did either.

    Like

  3. atrm61 says:

    Guess they need not worry about their lunch and parents now,eh?Great end-totally unexpected and shocking-loved it:-)

    Like

  4. Danny James says:

    Good one Maryann. Was not expecting the end.

    DJ

    Like

  5. This would be a wonderful beginning to an interesting story. Not that it doesn’t stand solid on its own, it does.

    Like

  6. Guess they should of went to school.

    Like

  7. Dear Maryann,

    No doubt they’ll think twice about skipping school again. Nice one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. Adam Ickes says:

    Heck of a start to their first time skipping school.

    Like

  9. Nicely built tale, powerful finale.

    Like

  10. liz young says:

    I wish they’d just backed away.

    Like

  11. I was really surprised by the ending. Well done. I thought it was going to be a happy piece. Not sure why.

    Like

  12. hugmamma says:

    One of those tragic decisions, when you wish you could turn back the clock. Good one…

    Like

  13. Oops wrong choice!

    Like

  14. erinleary says:

    Really fun story with an ominous twist at the end.

    Like