tree-climbing-poppy

Source: Rochelle Wisoff Fields daughter-in-law

Born the same day

The girl, a pup to play

Home with love all around

I’m home too, rescued from pound

You walk, sometimes fall

You’ll grow, we’ll play ball

I climb a tree, yes I do

Someday you’ll climb up too

Onto the school bus, a big girl now

I’ll wait in the tree upon a strong bough

You’ll read and count to ten

I’ll bark at the birds, chase the hen

Down the aisle, all in white

The man you love, a smile so bright

I walk too, rings upon my back

Looking dapper, bow tie of black

***********************************************

Submitted for Friday Fictioneers.  This is a fun writing prompt challenge.  Rochelle supplies a photograph to guide your writing and the word limit is 100.  Give it a try.

friday-fictioneers

24 responses

  1. Danny James says:

    Wonderful poem Maryann.

    DJ

    Like

  2. What a sweet dog.. loved the bow-tie

    Like

  3. Lovely little poem about the love between animal and owner.

    janet

    Like

  4. Aw, I can just picture the dog as ring bearer!. Great poem! 🙂

    Like

  5. Dear Maryann,

    Sweet poem. I’m all thumbs when it comes to rhyming. You did it well.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  6. Adam Ickes says:

    Wonderful poem.

    Like

  7. liz young says:

    Lovely idea – I hope the dog is a long-living breed.

    Like

  8. annisik51 says:

    Ahh! What a lovely poem! Visually, too. He’ll be quite a ‘distinguished’ dog on her wedding day – white beard and all. This is good enough to be scripted into a Disney movie. Think: Marley and Me? Dog of the Bride, even? Will you expand I wonder? Happy New Year. Ann

    Like

    • Thanks. I often write continuing stories on photo blog challenges. Maybe I’ll see how next week’s Friday Fictioneers fits. I wanted to include the entire lifetime friendship of the girl and her dog but there is a word limit.

      Like

  9. Lyn says:

    Awww, that was so sweet! I love lifetime friendships between dogs and children.

    Like

  10. rgayer55 says:

    ah, he’s going to walk her down the aisle. I love happy endings.

    Like

  11. Beautiful prose, and fine storytelling. Nice job, Maryann.

    Like

  12. […] Last week when I wrote a poem about the friendship between a girl and her dog, I received so many wonderful comments and some of them suggested I continue the poem.  If you wish to read the first part, click here. […]

    Like