Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below.

Al Forbes

Al Forbes

“I know why the caged bird sings, “said Ralph the gorilla.

“What! I hope you didn’t expect something more original from me.  Look around.  I spend every day confined to this glass enclosed habitat.  I don’t experience life enough to give you any original work.”

The zoo visitors continued to pass by pressing their faces to the glass.  “Sometimes they knock on the glass and gesture at me.  I don’t know how to make them understand my plight.  It is not mine alone either.  Just the other day, I heard the tigers quoting Rudyard Kipling.”

“Daddy! Daddy! That gorilla is talking, “said a young girl pulling on her dad’s pant leg.

“No honey.  Gorillas communicate but they don’t talk.  Move along Sarah. We have so much more to see today.”  The little girl moved forward but continued to look back at the gorilla.

“You see.  They don’t even listen to their young so how can I expect them to hear me,“complained Ralph.  Ralph continued his performance of Maya Angelou’s poem.

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

 

6 responses

  1. Al says:

    I like this. The caged creatures talking to each other and humanity in its ignorance thinking they are too dumb to talk. Only children listen.

    Great post. Read the link as well

    Like

  2. kerrieanns says:

    I love how sophisticated the animals are, reciting great works of art. Then you have the sweet innocence of children, them being the only ones to notice. Altogether a beautiful piece of flash fiction, and I enjoyed the poem you attached the link to. It added more context to the story 🙂

    Like

  3. EagleAye says:

    This could easily be called, “Interview with the gorilla.” I like the gorilla’s point that if people won’t listen to their young, how would they listen to him? Well, said, well said.

    Like