On September 27th, my daily history posting was a journey through the Billy Joel epic song, “We Didn’t Start the Fire” so recently while listening to the song “This’ll Be My Year” by the group Train, I thought about how much fun it had been to put together the post for “We Didn’t Start the Fire” so today I hope you enjoy my journey through pop culture and historical events beginning in 1985.  Now I read an article posted in 2012 on Pop Dust that did some fact checking on Train’s years and facts and there are a few that don’t hold up exactly but I think this is minor.  I will indicate these as I go through.

Train

Train

“This’ll Be My Year”

In ’85,
Tuesday morning,
Came alive,
I didn’t know ya
Route 66 is gone,
And Reagan’s here,
It won’t be long
route-66-sign-item-4n1-01Route 66 was decommissioned on June 27, 1985.  Read my post about that event. 
First Lady Nancy Reagan looks on as President Ronald Reagan is sworn in during ceremonies in the Rotunda beneath the Capitol Dome in Washington Monday, January 21, 1985.

First Lady Nancy Reagan looks on as President Ronald Reagan is sworn in during ceremonies in the Rotunda beneath the Capitol Dome in Washington
Monday, January 21, 1985.

Nintendo comes,
Live Aid, too,
Back to the Future
Where were you,
While I spent all my days
In Catholic school?
Nintendo, the company, had existed since the 1800s; 1985′s just when the NES was introduced in the U.S.

Nintendo, the company, had existed since the 1800s; 1985′s just when the NES was introduced in the U.S.

Live Aid January 13,1985 The Day Music Changed the World

Live Aid January 13,1985
The Day Music Changed the World

Read my post about Live Aid

Back-to-the-Future-1985-movies-17625175-1280-800

According to the fact checkers:  If we assume lead singer, Pat Monahan is speaking, he went to McDowell High School, a public school in Erie, Pennsylvania.

According to the fact checkers: If we assume lead singer, Pat Monahan is speaking, he went to McDowell High School, a public school in Erie, Pennsylvania.

In ’89,
The dream begins,
First in line to California,
Pete Rose is banned for good,
The Simpsons come to Hollywood,
Russia leaves Afghanistan,
Flight 103 ends Pan Am,
Bush is here
This is the year
That I feel most alone
On August 24, 1989 Pete Rose is banned for betting on baseball

On August 24, 1989 Pete Rose is banned for betting on baseball

The Simpsons debuted on television in December 1989. (Technically, Matt Groening had some shorts on The Tracey Ullman Show two years earlier)

The Simpsons debuted on television in December 1989. (Technically, Matt Groening had some shorts on The Tracey Ullman Show two years earlier)

Soviet troops leave Afghanistan in 1989. (Vitaly Armand/AFP/Getty Images)

Soviet troops leave Afghanistan in 1989. (Vitaly Armand/AFP/Getty Images)

It wasn't 1989 and the Pan Am Company didn't shut down until 1991 On December 21, 1988, 259 souls aboard Pan Am Flight 103 from 21 countries and 11 residents of the town of Lockerbie, Scotland, were killed when a bomb planted in the cargo hold of the plane exploded mid-air at 31,000 feet.

It wasn’t 1989 and the Pan Am Company
didn’t shut down until 1991
On December 21, 1988, 259 souls aboard Pan Am Flight 103 from 21 countries and 11 residents of the town of Lockerbie, Scotland, were killed when a bomb planted in
the cargo hold of the plane exploded
mid-air at 31,000 feet.

41gb_header_sm
No more
Countin’ down the hours
No more
Wishin’ you were here
I stopped believin’,
Although Journey told me ‘don’t’
Before I call it a day,
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
I like the reference to Journey's "Don't Stop Believing".  I was lucky to see Journey perform at the Round Up at JFK Stadium in Philadelphia in June 1982.  Great all day concert.

I like the reference to Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing” especially since the song has seen a revival in recent years. I was lucky to see Journey perform at the Round Up at JFK Stadium in Philadelphia in June 1981. Great all day concert.

In ’92,
A boy is born,
The skies were blue
In Ohio
Boris Yeltsin chills,
Freddie dies,
But Queen is still,
Barcelona has the games,
Lady Di is single again,
Clinton wins,
And I still dream
That I’ll find you someday

Boris Yeltsin, First President of Russia.  Term: 10 July 1991 – 31 December 1999

Boris Yeltsin,
First President of Russia.
Term: 10 July 1991 – 31 December 1999

Freddie Mercury actually died on November 24, 1991. The reference could be about the massively televised tribute concert in 1992.

Freddie Mercury actually died on November 24, 1991. The reference could be about the massively televised tribute concert in 1992.

Opening Ceremonies of the Barcelona Summer Olympic Games in 1992

Opening Ceremonies of the Barcelona Summer Olympic Games in 1992

Diana and Prince Charles announced their separation in December 1992.

Diana and Prince Charles announced their separation in December 1992.

Bill Clinton wins Democratic Presidential Nomination and is elected President, 1992

Bill Clinton wins Democratic Presidential Nomination and is elected President, 1992

In ’97,
A baby girl,
Adds some heaven to the world,
Tony Blair tips the scales,
Elton sings for the Princess of Wales,
Microsoft buys into Mac,
My dad has a second heart attack,
And Train leaves San Francisco
In a thousand-dollar van

Tony Blair Elected Prime Minister of Great Britain, 1997

Tony Blair Elected Prime Minister of Great Britain, 1997

elton_1511889c

Elton John’s “Candle in the Wind” was released with new lyrics as a tribute to Diana.

Princess-Diana-2274244

On 31 August 1997, Diana, Princess of Wales died as a result of injuries sustained in a car crash in the Pont de l’Alma road tunnel in Paris, France.

Funeral3

Diana’s death was met with extraordinary public expressions of grief, and her funeral at Westminster Abbey on 6 September 1997 drew an estimated 3 million mourners and onlookers in London, and worldwide television coverage watched by 2.5 billion people. It was aired to 200 countries in 44 languages.

The computing rival, Microsoft bought $150 million of Apple stock in 1997, which was a pretty big deal.

The computing rival, Microsoft bought $150 million of Apple stock in 1997, which was a pretty big deal.

No more
Countin’ down the hours
No more
Wishin’ you were here
I stopped believin’,
Although Journey told me ‘don’t’
Before I call it a day,
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year

journey-dont-stop-believin

2001,
The towers fell,
The World is stunned,
I wish I knew ya
I was on a plane,
The world would never be the same
The artificial heart is born–
Ironic when New York’s is torn out
Woah-oah-oah-oah

September 11, 2001

September 11, 2001

The world’s first artificial heart was actually implanted in 1969; what Train’s referring to is a newer model several breakthroughs after that. In other words, an artificial heart was born, but it wasn’t the first.

The world’s first artificial heart was actually implanted in 1969; what Train’s referring to is a newer model several breakthroughs after that. In other words, an artificial heart was born, but it wasn’t the first.

2004,
Began in May,
On tour when I met ya
Facebook joins the Internet,
Oldsmobile joins the cassette
I met your family
It took a while until you kissed me,
But when you did,
I finally felt at home

Mark Zuckerberg launched thefacebook.com on February 4, 2004, but its precursor Facemash had existed a year before.

Mark Zuckerberg launched facebook.com on February 4, 2004, but its precursor Facemash had existed a year before.

Oldsmobile out of business and obsolete like the cassette tape.

Oldsmobile out of business and obsolete like the cassette tape.

I stopped believin’,
Although Journey told me ‘don’t’
Before I call it a day,
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year
Maybe this’ll be my year

"Don't Stop Believin', " Journey.  When a song is used in both the finale of "The Sopranos" and in "Glee," you have to admit that it's made its mark on the culture. Read more: http://www.azcentral.com/thingstodo/music/articles/20100712power-anthems-songs-springsteen-u2.html?page=14#ixzz2iCDg2Ran

“Don’t Stop Believin’, ” Journey. When a song is used in both the finale of “The Sopranos” and in “Glee,” you have to admit that it’s made its mark on the culture.
Read more: http://www.azcentral.com/thingstodo/music/articles/20100712power-anthems-songs-springsteen-u2.html?page=14#ixzz2iCDg2Ran

2012,
And all I know
Is everybody comes and goes
Everybody sings and cries,
Makes the grade and takes the prize
In somethin’, nothin’, I don’t care,
Because I always know that you’ll be here
With me

Comments are closed.