Submitted for Sunday Photo Fiction

spf

The Assignment: The idea of Photo Fiction is write a story of around 100-200 words (which is also called Flash Fiction) based on a photo as a prompt. In this particular photo fiction, the story must be based on the photo below. With the link tool below, you can add your story as well as read all the amazing stories written by others.

This is a multiple part story.  To follow the story from the beginning, click hereAnd now, The Diaries, Part 12.

Credit: Al Forbes

Credit: Al Forbes

 

“Is Samuel your grandpa?”

“I knew that Grandma had been engaged during the war but she met my Grandpa Louie after she came to the United States.”

“We better keep reading to see what your Grandma has to say next.”

 August 10, 1941

I knew people at Bletchley were hiding something. Two men I had seen working with Samuel before were whispering in the hall and when I approached they turned and entered a door to their right that happened to be a maintenance closet. I waited for them to come out but they did not. Later, while I was doing the filing, the door opened and the men came out. When the coast was clear, I approached the door and turned the knob. It was locked but I wasn’t going to let this setback deflate me like an old soccer ball. Using a hairpin, I managed to open the door. Inside I didn’t find mops but a secret staircase leading down. I descended the stairs and found a major operation going on below the offices at Bletchley. I decided that I better get out of there for now but I vowed to ask some important questions about Samuel.

 

 

7 responses

  1. Birgit says:

    OK I always like to look at the picture first and think of how you might use it. This one I just scratched my head…again! Great way to place it into your story. Now I have to go back because I thought Samel was her grandfather…..

  2. Lyn says:

    Like Birgit, I wondered how this picture would fit into the diaries. Great writing Maryann :-)

  3. Al says:

    And there was me thinking this one would be a challenge for you. I should have known better ;-)